ICMR banner

Researchers in Residence

Each year the ICMR sponsors Researchers in Residence who visit UCSB for between one quarter and one year for collaborative research projects.

The ICMR Researchers in Residence for 2012-2013

Professor Roger C Reed graduated with his degree from Cambridge and a PhD in 1990. Since then, we has held faculty positions at Imperial College London, Cambridge, Birmingham in the UK and the University of British Columbia (UBC) in Vancouver, Canada, where he held a Canada Research Chair. He is a world-renowned expert on the materials used for high temperature systems, and specifically gas turbine engines. In 2006, he published the textbook "The Superalloys: Fundamentals and Applications" (Cambridge University Press). He has acted in various capacities (General Chair, Program Chair) for the International Symposium for Superalloys. In 2012, he was awarded the Humboldt Prize for contributions to his field. He was elected Fellow of the American Society of Materials in 2011. In Feb 2013, Roger Reed will take up a new position as Professor at the University of Oxford.

Professor Gunther Eggeler received his diploma degree in materials science and engineering in 1980 and his PhD degree in 1984 from the University of Erlangen. After three years as a postdoctoral researcher at the EPFL in Lausanne, he spent three years in the UK, working for a R&D company on the assessment of critical high temperature components for power plants. He then returned to Lausanne, where he led a research group on high temperature materials, with a strong focus on mechanical properties and on transmission electron microscopy. In 1995 he was appointed professor for materials science at the Ruhr-Universit├Ąt Bochum (RUB), where interdisciplinary materials research is now one of the research strongholds. At RUB he was director of a collaborative research center on shape memory alloys (2000-2011, SFB 459). He is presently leading a collaborative research center on single crystal super alloys (TRR102, start: 2012). He spent extended periods of time in materials research laboratories of universities and research institutions all over the world and has authored/co-authored more than 300 peer reviewed research papers on the identification of elementary processes which govern the evolution of microstructures in advanced engineering materials.

The ICMR Researchers in Residence for 2011-2012

Professor Peter Gumbsch received the diploma degree in physics in 1988 and his PhD degree in 1991 from the University of Stuttgart. After extended visit at the Sandia National Laboratories in Livermore, postdoctoral work at the Imperial College, London and the University of Oxford he returned to the Max-Planck-Institut in Stuttgart as a group leader and established the group "Modeling and Simulation of Thin Film Phenomena". In 2001 he took the chair for Mechanics of Materials at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology KIT and the position as head of Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWN in Freiburg and Halle. His research activities focus on modeling and simulation of materials, in particular multiscale modeling approaches. His activities cover atomistic simulation, mesoscopic modeling as well as macroscopic materials descriptions. Central research topics are deformation and fracture processes as well as interface properties in metals and ceramics. He has recently started new activities in the area of tribology. Amongst other recognitions he was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (2007).

Dr Yuval Golan obtained his doctorate degree from the Weizmann Institute of Science in 1996, and was a postgraduate research associate in the Materials Research Lab at UC Santa Barbara from 1996 to 1999. Since 1999 he has been with the faculty of the Ben-Gurion University (BGU) Department of Materials Engineering, tenured in 2004 and promoted to full professor in 2009. Dr Golan has been mainly active in research on chemically deposited thin films and nanomaterials. He has published close to 100 peer-reviewed research papers, and is currently Director of the Ilse Katz Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology at BGU (www.bgu.ac.il/iki).

Professor Fei Huang received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from Peking University in 2000 and gained his Ph.D. degree in Materials Science from the South China University of Technology in 2005 under the supervision of Prof. Yong Cao. After postdoctoral work at University of Washington with Prof. Alex K.-Y. Jen, he began his academic career in 2009 as a professor of South China University of Technology. His main interests are in the fields of organic functional materials and devices for opto-electronics.

Professor Roger Reed is Director of Research at the Dept fo Metallurgy and Materials, University of Birmingham, UK. His research concerns the physical metallurgy of high temperature alloys, and relates particularly to the processing, phas transitions, mechanical behaviour (creep and fatigue) and oxidation of these materials. He has a keen interest in mathematical modelling in these areas, as well as validatory studies using techniques such as neutron/synchrotron diffractometry, and electronic microscopy.

The ICMR Researcher in Residence for 2010-2011

Professor Manfred Fiebig is visiting from the Helmholtz Institute for Radiation and Nuclear Physics of the University of Bonn, Germany. During his visit he will be collaborating with the group of Prof. Nicola Spaldin at UCSB. His expertise is in the use of non-linear optics as as a tool for the investigation of ferroic structures and their interactions.

The ICMR Researcher in Residence for 2008-2009

Professor Tae-Yeon Seong is the Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Korea University and Director of the Brain Korea 21 Centre for Advanced Device Materials. He is visiting the group of Prof. Susanne Stemmer at UCSB, working on contacts and interfaces to new oxide thin films grown by molecular beam epitaxy.. His expertise is in contacts to wide-band gap materials and tranmission electron microscopy of oxide materials. His Researcher in Residence position is co-sponsored by the UCSB Materials Research Lab.

International Center for Materials Research National Science Foundation National Science Foundation link ICMR Home page link The University of California, Santa Barbara